Overriding a Service Status
At times you may wish to override the status of a given service on your board. For example, if a service is having an outage that doesn't affect you and your team, you might not want that warning published on your public board.
Alternatively, suppose service is impacted by an outage but not publishing it on its status page. In that case, you can still show it as down on your board along with an optional message displayed alongside the service.
To override a status - follow the next steps:
1. Select the needed board.
2. Click on the 3 dots next to a service, select Override Status.
3. You'll be taken to a page where you can change the current status and optionally the current message. In the example below, we've changed the status from WARN to UP and removed the message.
4. You are also given two options: Lock it or leave it Unlocked.
Locked simply means this modified status will stay in place until you return to the page and change it to something else. StatusGator's automated monitoring will not affect this service.
If you leave the status Unlocked, then a future change in the status of the service will cancel out your override and update the status and message automatically.
5. When you've finished, press Override and you'll be redirected back to your board. From here, you can see the status of your override.Note: the lock icon will show as Locked or Unlocked depending on your choice. The pencil will indicate to you that the status you see displayed is different from the automated status.
Any message you have specified will show on your board, allowing you to communicate issues immediately regardless of whether the service's status page is showing the issue.
So you'll that message you've entered and the status you've overridden the service to, which will be UP in our case and it'll say "This status was overridden for test purposes".